My thoughts on day 1 – Exercise & Nutrition

Today has been the first day of the rest of my life….well till September and my 30th birthday.

I think that morning workouts are the way forward. I got up, put my work out gear on, worked out and then I was done! Simple I have had the whole day with exercise under my belt! No need to think about what I have to do in the evening! The evenings are mine to do with what I want! What a feeling!!!

The exercises that I completed were all Compound Supersets.       

2 sets with 12 reps 

(They did take me over an hour to do but it was the first time! I hope to get these in around 30 mins).

Dumbbell One Arm Row

Push ups

Dumbbell Shoulder Press

Standing Calf Raise (one leg)

Dumbbell Curl

Overhead Dumbbell Extension

Dumbbell Squat

Stiff legged Deadlift

Nutrition 

Breakfast (Post workout)- Porridge with chopped pear on top

Lunch Grilled Chicken Couscous Salad, added a squeeze of light Mayo

1 Instant Coffee with 2 sweeteners

3 pints of water – I need to work on this!

I would like to mention that I have felt a bit out of sorts all day, really lethargic and grumpy. I am sure that this is down to a mixture of my sugar levels crashing from all of the chocolate consumed on Easter Sunday! and the complete lack of Caffeine in my system. I would usually drink around 6/7 cups of coffee and tea per day (maybe more). To cheer me up my husband bought me a Chinese takeaway…It worked! my body must have been missing all of that junk! 

Dinner – Yep you heard it! I had a Chinese takeaway! What terrible commitment on my first day. I am a little upset with myself…although I did try to order wisely! Chicken with Cashew Nuts and I nicked a bit of my hubby’s rice.

A breakdown of my nutrition today.

I found a handy app called My Fitness Pal, you can enter all of your goals, food, exercise etc… and gives you graphs and pie chards of your progress. Amazing! As you can see from this pie chart I should be consuming no more than 40% carbs, 20% fat and 40% Protein (as laid out by The ‘Body Sculpting Bible’) It looks like I have some work to do in order to get inside these perimeters.

 Copyright of Melody Armstrong 

4 thoughts on “My thoughts on day 1 – Exercise & Nutrition

  1. deriand says:

    Wishing you lots of luck and willpower on your journey!

    Like

  2. Melody says:

    Thank you, Easter chocolate has been my vice today :/

    Like

  3. HI! Hi! Just found your blog. Good luck on your journey to health and fitness! I’ve just started a health and wellness journey a few months ago. Just started following your blog 🙂

    Like

  4. Melody says:

    Hey, Thanks for the follow, I think the more people taking an interest in my blog the more motivation I have…or something like that! Good luck to you too x

    Like

Leave a Reply

